Animal FarmAnimal Farm by George Orwell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I think I read this in high school. Parts of it seemed familiar, but I’m not %100 sure. I can tell you, though, that I got a lot more out of reading it considering that I had recently read “Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovitch and the Siege of Leningrad” by MT Anderson. If you are considering reading “Animal Farm” read “Symphony” as a companion book. First of all, because it’s amazing, and secondly, because it will put so much of Orwell’s fable into context. You’ll be able to easily see which animals resemble which historical figures or represent groups of people, etc.

It almost makes everything more awful because they’re animals. It should dehumanize it, but I’m one of those people that cries when the dog dies in the movie but not necessarily the human (sick, I know). I cried in the Java House when a certain character was taken away near the end, mostly because there is a 13-year-old girl who still loves horses trapped inside of me, even though I haven’t gone near one in years (I am Tina Blecher inside of my soul).

I’m so excited to teach this next year because I want to incorporate short readings from “Symphony” and I want to empower my students against propaganda. Now I want to read 1984!

View all my reviews

