The Immortal Life of Henrietta LacksThe Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m so glad the author was able to bring Henrietta’s story to life. I think her persistence and her research methods showed a deep and palpable grit, and I really admire that in a writer and researcher.

Despite its heavy science content, the book was easy for a layman (or laylady… wait, that sounds like something else…) to understand. I felt more educated about medical research after I finished, and I think the author did a bang up job tackling the ethical questions regarding the use of harvested samples and whether or not the “donor” should be compensated.

The study of Henrietta’s cells and her life opened up a whole spectrum of stories and conundrums for the reader to consider regarding race, poverty, and medical ethics. I would recommend this to pretty much anyone, because I really think it has something for everybody.

View all my reviews

