A few years ago, my husband Lee pointed out to me the lyrics of one of my favorite Christmas songs (popularized by Andy Williams). Here are some lines from “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.”

There’ll be parties for hosting
Marshmallows for toasting
And caroling out in the snow
There’ll be scary ghost stories
And tales of the glories of the
Christmases long, long ago…

Yeah. You read it right. Scary ghost stories!

Guess what. They’re not just for Halloween anymore! Most of our Christmas traditions come from England, who stole them from Germany and other (pagan!) origins. Most of the activities popularized during Victoria’s reign, like Christmas trees and gift giving, are obviously still popular today. Unfortunately, however, the tradition of telling ghost stories on Christmas Eve has all but disappeared.

So the Kibbies are on a one-family mission to bring this tradition back. At our holiday parties, we often force our confused guests to listen to and share their paranormal experiences. Because seriously. This is awesome and needs to be a thing again.

ghost
Where do you think Dickens got his spooky ideas for A Christmas Carol?

I’ve been feeling VERY FESTIVE lately, so in the SPIRIT (see what I did there??) of the season, I’m here to tell you some true ghost stories that happened to me. I’m not saying I’m 100% sure these are true paranormal happenings. I’m not discounting plausible explanations. All I can tell you is what I saw…

Also, there are so many stories I’m going to have to break them into separate posts. So, for tonight, let’s start with stories about the condo where I live now.

Rhonda

When I moved in with my soon-to-be-husband, we crammed everything the two of us owned into a two-bedroom condo. I made some joke at some point like, “Well, it’s small, but at least it’s not haunted, right?”

And then my partner admitted to me that the previous owner had passed away in the unit. Yeah, cuz the realtor has to disclose these things.

I told him I wasn’t scared, and I’m not. But I have had some experiences, and so has he.

One of the first things that happened was a couple of months after moving in. I was asleep on my side facing the window of the bedroom. It was daylight and I was taking a nap. I woke up to the feeling of someone touching my leg in a kindly way. I kind of half-opened my eyes, or opened my eyes in my dream, whatever you want to believe. But I saw this older woman standing there, silhouetted against the light coming in from the window. Shew as just nicely touching my leg. When I woke up all the way she was gone, but I could still feel the fingers for a few seconds.

A few months later, I was in the bathroom getting ready for bed. To be totally honest, I’d had a little to drink. I turned off the light to go into the bedroom, and happened to glance into the living room. The woman was sitting on the couch, which had its back to the hallway I was standing in. She was seated with her back facing me and her arm slung up over the back of the couch. She turned to me, and she was dead. I won’t go into too much detail, but let’s just say I knew she was dead. I just stumbled across the hallway and crawled into bed. Lee was already asleep in there so I just cuddled in and forgot about it.

At one point, I did a pretty generic house blessing. I made it clear that any spirit that was friendly was completely welcome to come and go as they pleased. I wanted the woman to know that I acknowledged this used to be her home.

Things would go quiet for a long time, but eventually, my husband and I started trying for a baby. After one day we had been trying, he was laying in bed that night almost asleep. He got the strong impression that someone else had come into the room. He could see a glowing figure in his mind’s eye, but it was glowing the way a spot in your eye glows after you look at a camera flash. It seemed like, to him, that an entity was coming to tell us that this time it had worked. Just a few weeks later, I was pregnant. I know from my ovulation chart that was the day my daughter was conceived. So whatever it was, this herald of my pregnancy, was right.

After my daughter was born, as a “find yourself again after becoming a mom” type of a journey, my husband got me a ticket to New Orleans so I could spend the weekend relaxing and doing research for Cultbreakers. While I was gone, he was sitting on the bedroom floor rocking the baby. He saw what looked like the white l-shaped nursing pillow float down the hallway past the door and disappear into the nursery. But then he looked down and saw the nursing pillow was on his lap. He said it didn’t look exactly like the pillow, but it was shaped like it.

The most recent event happened about a month or so ago. I was headed into my daughter’s bedroom, and someone stepped on my foot. I thought my husband had come up behind me and was trying to dart into the bedroom before I could to pick up our daughter first (she was crying). I could feel the ball of the foot, the roundness of the underside, and the rough scaly foot-skin feeling on top of my own food. I turned to say “I’ll get her!” and nobody was there. The weird part was I could feel the pressure from that foot on the top of my foot for HOURS afterward. It went from pressure to a skin burning sensation that took hours to stop.

So… that’s all I have for this dwelling. Stay tuned for my next post with more spooky Christmas fun!

