It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

As promised, here is my second set of ghost stories.

 

The Family Home

I grew up in a house that was built in 1899, and my parents still live there. I don’t blame them for not wanting to jump on the ghost train with me, and it’s totally cool if they don’t believe me about any of this. A lot of it, I think, can be explained away, but hey, Andy Williams wants us telling scary ghost stories, so here we go:

Mom?

One of my earliest spooky memories involves a doppelganger sighting.  I remember laying in bed, looking at a nightlight that was plugged into the wall on the other side of the room. I was wishing very hard that my mom would come upstairs (I was probably yelling for her, too — I was sort of famous for not sleeping through the night. Ask my mom how she and some shiny coins broke me of that habit!). Then, suddenly, I saw her walk through the wall of my bedroom right by the nightlight. She was wearing the same fleece jacket she always wore. This was in the 80s so she had a perm. I can still picture it to this day. She walked through, and then just evaporated like smoke.

The Bear

When I was in kindergarten, we had a class bear named Mary. Every weekend, a different kid in the class got to take Mary home. I think the assignment was that you’d write or draw in the journal about what you and Mary did together and then the class would read it. I’ll never forget — we drew numbers to see who got to take the bear home first. My teacher said she was going to take number one and have the first weekend. I drew number 26… the last number! I started crying, but then my teacher (I think she planned this!) came over and switched numbers with me. I was so stoked to take Mary home!

Thing was… I already had a bear. A very favorite bear, like my absolute most favorite stuffed animal. His name was Teddy (obviously I was a super creative kid). In my little kid brain, the bed was only big enough for one bear, and Mary was a guest, so she got first dibs to sleep snuggled in with me.

But, I didn’t want Teddy to feel abandoned, so I set up my pink My Little Ponies tent for him in the corner of the room, and wrapped him snugly in blankets. I even had a little pillow in there for him. I remember zipping up the tent flap and telling Teddy we’d see him in the morning.

When I woke up, Teddy was no longer in the tent. The flap was unzipped all the way, and he was out of the tent, and unswaddled from his blankets. My mom swears up and down to this day that neither she nor my father touched him. At this time, I was sleeping in an antique bed that was pretty high off the ground for a little kid to climb in and out of. I really don’t think a five year old would wake up in the night, climb down from this huge bed, move the bear in her sleep, and climb back up to the exact same position… Well, as paranormal podcaster Jim Harold would say, it’s a head-scratcher!

The Boy

As a kid and adolescent, I was way into the paranormal, and probably wanted to believe our house was haunted. I would hear the usual old house creaks and squeaks and get weirded out. I had this dresser with these handles you had to lift and pull. When it was very quiet, I would sometimes hear these handles click as if someone was touching them, lifting them up and dropping them against the dresser again.

Sometimes I would freak myself out and not want to be alone. One night, I remember seeing weird balls of negative energy flying around the ceiling of the living room. I say negative because it was like they would be balls of light, but it was darkness instead. The best way I can describe it is that it looked like those wormhole things coming out of people’s chests in Donnie Darko.

However, I did once see a full-body apparition. I was crossing the office space in the middle of the house, ready to head up the stairs on the other side of the room. I passed the doorway that led into our living room, which was dark. I saw a boy in 1900s clothing (shirtsleeves, vest, pants) with red hair parted down the middle lean into the doorway, like he had his back to the wall and was peeking in at me. It was weird because he looked again like a negative image — like the little floaters left in your eyes after someone flashes a camera in your face.

I ran upstairs, jumped into bed, and pulled up the covers all like “NOPE!”

The EVP

This is my only piece of real evidence that our family home might have a spirit or two. The description of the video on youtube has a transcript of the tape. I was interviewing my mom and dad for a college class, and caught an otherworldly voice. Sorry for the audio quality! Highly recommend following along on the youtube page for the transcript.

That does it for Volume 2 of my holiday ghost extravaganza! We’ll be headed home to that very house on Friday, so we’ll see if anything spooky happens!

(It won’t. The only spirits I’ll see are my parents fully stocked bar! MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!)

