The Book ThiefThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one of the best books I have ever read. It has been a long, long time since I’ve been this hooked into a book. I can’t recommend it enough.

I adore that Death is the narrator. Such voice! SUCH VOICE! If you want to learn how to write with voice, how to really develop a narrator that stands out, read this book. It’s a fantastic example.

The characters were so complex and human. Zusak makes you fall in love with them only to snatch them away from you. It makes the grief so real. I love that the mother, Rosa, who you’re supposed to kind of dislike, has these wonderful moments where she is glorified and we are reminded how many facets a person’s soul can have. Even minor characters are given complexity.

This was a beautiful story, beautifully written, and so unbelievably powerful. There are no words. War is hell. Evil exists.

I cried for the last 20 pages so hard I could barely read the words, and I’m tearing up now just thinking about it. It’s so terribly sad! I don’t want to read a sad book for a long time now, but I have a whole Holocaust reading list to work through so… yeah. I don’t cry easily and rarely that hard. I was up half the night thinking about the book. READ THIS BOOK!

View all my reviews

